Comparison
Clockify is the closest Paymo replacement on a budget. It is free for up to 5 users, has an auto tracker, and adds invoicing from its Standard plan. Pick Harvest if invoicing clients is the main job, Toggl for planning plus time tracking, and Everhour for tracking inside Asana or Jira. Pick Dayflow if you work alone on a Mac and want an automatic, AI-written record kept locally.
Paymo is three tools in one. It is a project manager with Kanban and Gantt views, a time tracker, and an invoicing app. That mix is why people sign up, and often why they leave. Its own pricing and product pages point to three common reasons.
The first is seats. The Free and Solo plans stop at one user. Once a second person needs access, you move to Plus at $10.9 per user per month billed annually, or $15.9 billed monthly. Integrations and API access also start on Plus. The Free plan is also capped at 1 client and 2 projects.
The second is monthly pricing. Solo currently starts at $5.9 a month for the first three months under a time-limited offer, then rises to $9.9 a month on monthly billing.
The third is how it tracks. Paymo Track can record time spent in desktop apps in the background. You still have to match each recorded activity to a task and project yourself. Some people want less project management and more automation. Others want the opposite.
Dayflow is our product, and it is one of the five alternatives below. It ranks fourth, and a later section covers where it is the wrong choice. Facts about the other tools come from each vendor’s own pricing and product pages, checked on October 4, 2026. Dayflow’s details come from version 2.2.0. The method is a comparison of vendor documentation as of those dates. For the wider field, see our guide to Mac time trackers.
The short version:
| Tool | Best for | How it tracks | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clockify | Small teams that want Paymo’s mix of time, invoicing and scheduling for less | Timer, timesheet, calendar, kiosk, plus an auto tracker in the desktop app | Free for up to 5 users; Basic $3.99 per seat/month billed annually or $4.99 monthly |
| Harvest | Freelancers and teams who invoice from tracked hours | One-click timers, daily and weekly timesheets, or a connected calendar | Free (1 seat, 2 projects); Teams $9 seat/month billed annually or $11 monthly |
| Toggl | Teams that want time tracking and project planning in one place | Timers, timesheets, calendar integrations, plus background tracking and a timeline in the desktop app | Free for up to 3 users; Starter $9 per user/month billed annually or $12 monthly |
| Dayflow | One person on a Mac who wants an automatic record of the day | Captures the screen at one frame every 10 seconds; AI writes a timeline | $0, MIT licensed; optional Pro $20 a month |
Paymo does a lot in one subscription. Few tools here match its range.
If you use the Gantt charts, send estimates and invoices from it, and work alone or with a team already on Plus, Paymo is doing its job.
The one-user ceiling. Free and Solo are single-user plans. A freelancer who adds a subcontractor jumps from Solo at $5.9 a month (annual) to Plus at $10.9 per user per month (annual). That is two seats, so the bill more than triples. Clockify, Toggl and Everhour all have free plans for small teams.
Integrations cost extra. Integrations and API access start on Plus. If you work in Asana, Jira or ClickUp, the Plus plan is required just to connect them.
Monthly pricing after the offer. The monthly prices on the pricing page start low for three months and then rise. Solo goes from $5.9 to $9.9, Plus from $10.9 to $15.9, and Pro from $16.9 to $23.9. Paymo says yearly billing saves up to 40%, but that means paying a year up front.
Matching activity is still manual. Paymo Track captures app time, but turning it into project entries is your job. Some people want a tool that writes the summary for them. Others realize they only wanted a timer anyway.
Too much tool. If you never open the Gantt chart, you are paying for project management you do not use.
No AI and unclear hosting. Paymo states no AI features on the pages checked. It also does not state where its servers are. Clockify lets you choose a hosting region, and Everhour names its AWS regions.
What changes: Clockify covers much of Paymo’s ground at a lower per-seat price.
Price: Free for up to 5 users. Paid plans per seat per month:
| Plan | Billed annually | Billed monthly |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | $3.99 | $4.99 |
| Standard | $5.49 | $6.99 |
| Pro | $7.99 | $9.99 |
| Enterprise | $11.99 | $14.99 |
| CAKE.com Bundle | $12.99 | $15.99 |
The trial is 7 days of Pro features, with no credit card.
The limit: Clockify is mainly timer and timesheet based. If you rely on Paymo’s Kanban and Gantt views, check Clockify’s feature list before moving, since its listed strengths are timekeeping, invoicing and scheduling. Invoicing and approvals need a paid plan. Activity monitoring on Pro may be more oversight than a small creative team wants.
Switch to it if the per-seat jump on Paymo is the problem, and you want invoicing, an auto tracker and Linux support for less. Our Toggl vs Clockify comparison covers the closest head-to-head.
What changes: Harvest drops project management and focuses on hours and money.
Price: The Free plan covers 1 seat and 2 projects and still includes invoicing and expenses. Teams is $9 per seat per month ($108 per seat, billed annually), or $11 billed monthly. Enterprise is $14 per seat per month billed annually, or $17.50 billed monthly. Enterprise Plus has custom pricing. The trial is 30 days, with no credit card.
The limit: Harvest lists no automatic activity capture. If you liked Paymo Track recording app time in the background, you lose that. Its listed strengths are invoicing, expenses and reporting, so Paymo’s Kanban and Gantt views have no counterpart in what it lists.
Switch to it if invoicing clients is the core job and Paymo’s project features were going unused. For more on billing workflows, see how to track billable hours on a Mac. We also have a separate list of Harvest alternatives if you want to compare further.
What changes: Toggl now combines time tracking and planning under one name. Toggl Track and Toggl Plan are legacy products for existing users.
Price: Free for up to 3 users. Starter is $9 per user per month billed annually, or $12 billed monthly. Premium is $16 per user per month billed annually, or $24 billed monthly. Enterprise means contacting the vendor. Paid plans include a 30-day trial.
The limit:
Switch to it if you want Paymo’s mix of planning and time tracking, with AI on top and a free plan for a team of three. Toggl vs Harvest helps if you are torn between the two.
What changes: Dayflow drops timers and the job of matching activities to tasks. It captures your screen at one frame every 10 seconds, and AI writes the day into a readable timeline.
Price: $0. The optional Pro plan is $20 a month for managed cloud analysis. Dayflow needs macOS 14 or later. See pricing.
The limit: Dayflow is not a Paymo replacement for billing. It has no invoices, payroll approvals, team reports or website blocking. It runs on Mac only. AI summaries can miss or misinterpret work, so check them before you share anything.
Switch to it if you work alone on a Mac, want an honest record of your day without starting timers, and already invoice elsewhere or not at all. Building a timesheet without manual entry shows how the export fits a billing workflow.
What changes: Everhour puts the timer inside the tools where your tasks already live. You log timer and manual entries against tasks in Asana, Jira, ClickUp, Linear, Trello and others, or in Everhour’s own projects. It lists more than 40 integrations. A single paid tier includes budgets with alerts, invoicing, expenses, time off and scheduling, plus SSO and advanced permissions. Everhour says it hosts on AWS in Oregon (USA) and Frankfurt (Germany), with data replicated across both regions.
Price: Free for up to 5 seats with limited features, and no integrations. Team is $8.50 per seat per month billed yearly, or $10 billed monthly, with a minimum of 5 seats. Custom pricing means contacting the vendor and starts at 50 seats. The trial is 14 days with all features and no credit card.
The limit:
Switch to it if your team already runs projects in Asana, Jira or ClickUp. In that case, Paymo’s built-in project management is duplicate work.
| Tool | Price | Automatic capture | Where data lives | Platforms | Open source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paymo | Free (1 user); Solo $5.9/month annually or $9.9 monthly; Plus $10.9/user/month annually or $15.9 monthly; Pro $16.9/user/month annually or $23.9 monthly | Yes, Paymo Track records desktop app time; you match entries to tasks | Cloud; Paymo Track activities stored locally; server location not stated | Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android | No |
| Clockify | Free (up to 5 users); paid from $3.99 to $12.99 per seat/month annually, or $4.99 to $15.99 monthly | Auto tracker in the desktop app | Cloud, with hosting in the EU (Germany), UK, USA or Australia | Web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, browser extensions | No |
| Harvest | Free (1 seat, 2 projects); Teams $9 seat/month annually or $11 monthly; Enterprise $14 annually or $17.50 monthly; Enterprise Plus custom | None listed | Cloud | Web, Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, browser extensions | No |
| Toggl | Free (up to 3 users); Starter $9 per user/month annually or $12 monthly; Premium $16 annually or $24 monthly; Enterprise contact vendor | Background tracking and a timeline in the desktop app | Cloud | Web, Mac, Windows, iOS, Android, browser extensions | No |
| Dayflow | $0; optional Pro $20 a month | Yes, one screen frame every 10 seconds, summarized by AI | Recordings and timeline on your Mac; analysis local or cloud, depending on the mode you choose | Mac (macOS 14+) | Yes, MIT |
| Everhour | Free (up to 5 seats); Team $8.50 per seat/month yearly or $10 monthly, minimum 5 seats; Custom contact vendor | Only as an early-access AI Tracker | Cloud, AWS in Oregon (USA) and Frankfurt (Germany) | Web, Mac (menu bar app), mobile, browser extension | No |
Stay if you use what only Paymo combines here: Kanban, Gantt charts, scheduling and leave planning in the same tool as estimates, invoices and expenses. Clockify comes closest on scheduling and invoicing.
Stay if you work alone with a single client. The Free plan gives you unlimited time tracking, tasks and invoices, and none of the alternatives offers that exact bundle for $0. Harvest’s free plan comes closest, with invoicing for 1 seat and 2 projects.
Stay if you need a Linux desktop app and want automatic app tracking that keeps recorded activities on your machine until you log them. Before you switch, try the yearly price. Solo at $5.9 a month billed annually may cost less than moving a whole workflow somewhere else.
Dayflow is not the answer for several common Paymo use cases. Here is what to pick instead.
Paymo is a capable all-in-one tool. People usually leave because of the one-user limit on cheaper plans, integrations that start on Plus, or a mismatch between how much project management they pay for and how much they use.
Whichever you pick, run the real hourly rate calculator once you have a month of data. It shows whether the tool is paying for itself.
Several. Clockify's free plan covers up to 5 users and includes its auto tracker. Toggl is free for up to 3 users. Everhour is free for up to 5 seats but leaves out integrations. Harvest is free for 1 seat and 2 projects, with invoicing included. Dayflow costs $0 and is MIT licensed, though it runs on macOS 14 or later only and has no invoicing.
Harvest. It builds invoices from tracked time, accepts online payments, tracks expenses and connects to QuickBooks and Xero. Its free plan includes invoicing for 1 seat and 2 projects. Clockify adds invoicing from its Standard plan, and Everhour includes invoicing in its Team plan. Dayflow does not create invoices at all.
No. If billing is the job, Paymo or Harvest beats Dayflow. Both create invoices and track expenses, and Paymo also handles estimates. Dayflow has no invoicing, payroll approvals or team reports. It gives you an automatic timeline of what you worked on, which you can export as Markdown and use to fill in a timesheet in another tool.
Partly. The Paymo Track desktop app can run in the background and record time spent in desktop apps. You then match those activities to tasks and projects yourself. Paymo says these automatically recorded activities are stored locally on your computer, and that you choose which entries get logged. It also offers a stopwatch timer, manual entries, bulk timesheets and a Pomodoro timer.
Clockify Basic, at $3.99 per seat per month billed annually or $4.99 billed monthly. Paymo Solo is $5.9 a month billed annually or $9.9 billed monthly, and Paymo Plus is $10.9 per user per month billed annually. Everhour's Team plan is $8.50 per seat per month billed yearly, but it bills a minimum of 5 seats.
Yes. Everhour logs time against tasks inside connected tools such as Asana, Jira, ClickUp, Linear and Trello, and it lists more than 40 integrations. Integrations are not included on its free plan. Toggl offers Jira and Asana integrations on its Premium plan, which is $16 per user per month billed annually or $24 billed monthly.
Dayflow stores full screen recordings and its timeline on your Mac. With Local AI through Ollama or LM Studio, screenshot analysis stays on-device as well. Paymo says activities recorded by Paymo Track are stored locally, but the rest of a Paymo account lives in the cloud. Harvest, Toggl, Everhour and Clockify are cloud services.
The product is now presented as Toggl, which combines time tracking with planning, and toggl.com/track redirects to toggl.com. Toggl describes Toggl Track and Toggl Plan as legacy products that existing users can still use. The current plans are Free for up to 3 users, Starter, Premium and Enterprise.
Toggl offers Toggl AI for natural-language questions about workspace data, plus an MCP server and an AI Task Creator. Dayflow uses AI to turn screen captures into a written timeline, either locally or in the cloud. Everhour advertises an AI Tracker as early access only. Clockify and Harvest list no AI features, and Paymo states none on the pages checked.
Dayflow is $0 and open source. Full recordings stay on your Mac, with local AI available for on-device analysis.
Download for MacOS macOS 14+ · MIT licensed · no account required