Comparison
Clockify is the better pick for most small teams on a budget. Its Free plan covers up to 5 users, and paid seats start at $3.99 per month billed annually, with invoicing from Standard at $5.49. Paymo wins when you want project management and invoicing in one tool, at $10.9 per user per month billed annually on Plus. Dayflow, our Mac app, suits individuals, not team billing.
Paymo is a project management tool with time tracking and invoicing built in, and its free plan stops at one user. Clockify is a timesheet tool first, and its free plan covers a whole team of up to five people.
Disclosure: we make Dayflow, a free, open-source Mac app that records the screen at one frame every 10 seconds and has AI write the day into a timeline. It shows up below as a third option, labeled as ours. This comparison is based on each vendor’s own documentation and pricing pages as checked on 2026-10-04, and Dayflow’s facts come from version 2.2.0. If you mainly care about Clockify on a Mac, we also have a closer look at Clockify for Mac.
| Tool | Best for | How it tracks | Price | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paymo | Small consulting, creative, marketing or architecture firms that want projects, time and invoices in one place | Stopwatch, manual and bulk timesheet entries, Pomodoro timer; Paymo Track can record desktop app time for you to match to tasks | Free (1 user); team plans from $10.9/user/month billed annually or $15.9 billed monthly | Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android |
| Clockify | Teams of up to 5 that want free timesheets, or bigger teams that want cheap paid seats | Timer, timesheet, calendar and kiosk entry; auto tracker in the desktop app | Free (up to 5 users); paid from $3.99/seat/month billed annually or $4.99 billed monthly | Web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, browser extensions |
| Dayflow (ours) | One person on a Mac who wants an automatic record of their own day | Screen frame every 10 seconds, AI writes a timeline | $0 (MIT); optional Pro at $20/month | Mac only (macOS 14+) |
Projects and billing live together. Paymo positions itself as project management with time tracking and invoicing for small businesses. Tasks, time entries and invoices sit in one account, and higher plans add Kanban boards, Gantt charts, scheduling and leave planning. For a five-person agency that would otherwise pay for a separate project tool, that bundling is the real reason to look at Paymo.
Invoicing is not paywalled on the free tier. Paymo’s Free plan includes unlimited time tracking, tasks and invoices, and estimates and expenses sit alongside time tracking in the product. That only helps a solo user, since Free is capped at one user, one client and two projects. Still, it means a founder can try the billing workflow end to end before the rest of the team joins.
Automatic desktop tracking without screenshots. The Paymo Track desktop app can run in the background and record time spent in desktop apps. The vendor says those automatically recorded activities are stored locally on the computer, and the user decides which entries get logged to the account. For a team that wants help remembering time but does not want a manager-facing activity feed, this is a reasonable middle ground. We cover that tradeoff more in time tracking without surveillance.
More ways to enter time. Besides the stopwatch, Paymo supports manual interval entries, bulk timesheet entries and a Pomodoro timer. People who batch their timesheet on Friday and people who run a timer all day can both use it.
A longer trial. Paymo’s trial is 15 days with no credit card. Clockify’s is 7 days of Pro features.
The free plan actually fits a team. Clockify’s Free plan is for up to 5 users. The pricing page says “for up to 5 users” and the FAQ says you can invite up to 4 people, which together describe the owner plus four teammates. That plan includes unlimited tracking, the timer, timesheets, the auto tracker, calendar, reports and the apps. For a budget-conscious team that just needs to know where hours went, this is the cheapest answer in this comparison.
Paid seats are cheaper. Clockify’s Basic, Standard and Pro plans all cost less per seat than Paymo’s cheapest team plan. Even Clockify Pro, at $7.99 per seat per month billed annually, comes in under Paymo Plus at $10.9.
Workforce features. Clockify’s vendor positioning is about timekeeping, attendance, budgeting and payroll data. Standard adds invoicing, time off and approval workflows. Pro adds scheduling, forecasting, expenses, GPS tracking and activity monitoring. Enterprise adds SSO and audit logs. There is also kiosk clock-in, useful if some of your team works from a shared device.
Data residency choices. Clockify offers data hosting in the EU (Germany), the UK, the USA or Australia. Paymo does not state its server location on the pages checked. If a client contract asks where time data lives, Clockify gives you a documented answer.
More entry points. Clockify has browser extensions in addition to web, desktop and mobile apps, and it supports calendar entry. Clockify’s limits are worth stating plainly too: it is primarily timer and timesheet based, and invoicing and approvals require a paid plan.
| Capability | Paymo | Clockify | Dayflow (ours) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automatic capture | Paymo Track records desktop app time; you match it to tasks | Auto tracker in the desktop app | Screen frame every 10 seconds, AI writes a timeline |
| Timers and manual entry | Stopwatch, manual and bulk timesheet entries, Pomodoro | Timer, timesheet, calendar and kiosk entry | No timer; capture is automatic |
| Invoicing | Yes, unlimited invoices even on Free | Standard plan and above | No |
| Team reports | See the vendor’s pricing page | Reports included on Free | No |
| Approvals, time off, payroll data | Leave planning on higher plans | Approvals and time off on Standard and above | No payroll approvals |
| Website blocking | Not listed | Not listed | No |
| AI summaries | None stated on the vendor pages checked | None listed | Yes, an AI-written timeline (can miss or misread work) |
| Data location | Cloud; Paymo Track activities stored locally until logged; server location not stated | Cloud, hosted in EU (Germany), UK, USA or Australia | Recordings and timeline on your Mac; analysis local or cloud, your choice |
| Free tier | 1 user, 1 client, 2 projects, 1GB storage | Up to 5 users | Free app, $0 |
| Platforms | Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android | Web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, browser extensions | Mac only (macOS 14+) |
| Open source | No | No | Yes, MIT license |
| Plan | Paymo | Clockify |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 / month, 1 user | $0, up to 5 users |
| Entry paid | Solo: $5.9 / month billed annually or $9.9 billed monthly, 1 user | Basic: $3.99 / seat / month billed annually or $4.99 billed monthly |
| Mid | Plus: $10.9 / user / month billed annually or $15.9 billed monthly | Standard: $5.49 / seat / month billed annually or $6.99 billed monthly |
| Upper | Pro: $16.9 / user / month billed annually or $23.9 billed monthly | Pro: $7.99 / seat / month billed annually or $9.99 billed monthly |
| Top | Not applicable | Enterprise: $11.99 / seat / month billed annually or $14.99 billed monthly |
| Bundle | Not applicable | CAKE.com Bundle: $12.99 / seat / month billed annually or $15.99 billed monthly |
| Trial | 15 days, no credit card | 7 days of Pro, no credit card |
Dayflow, for comparison, is $0 with an optional Pro plan at $20 a month, which is $240 a year for one person. It has no per-seat team pricing because it is not a team product. Plans are on our pricing page.
Here is what one person on a small team pays per year on the cheapest plan that fits the job. Multiply by your headcount for the team total.
If the job is just tracking hours and seeing reports, Clockify Free costs $0 per person, as long as the team stays at five or fewer. Paymo has no free option for a team, because Free and Solo are both one user. The cheapest Paymo plan that holds a team is Plus: $10.9 x 12 = $130.80 per user per year billed annually.
If the job includes sending invoices, Clockify’s cheapest fit is Standard: $5.49 x 12 = $65.88 per seat per year billed annually. Paymo Plus stays at $130.80 per user, roughly double per seat. If your team only needs time data and invoices, that difference buys you nothing. If Paymo’s project management replaces another subscription, it may pay for itself.
On monthly billing the picture is similar. Clockify Standard is $6.99 x 12 = $83.88 per seat per year. Paymo Plus is $15.9 x 12 = $190.80 per user per year at the regular monthly price. On 2026-10-04 Paymo was running a time-limited offer for new monthly customers that charges $10.9 for the first three months before the price rises to $15.9, so check the vendor’s pricing page for current terms. Paymo says yearly billing saves up to 40%, so if you choose Paymo, pay annually.
If you bill clients by the hour, the real hourly rate calculator is a quick way to see whether software spend is noise or a real cut of your margin.
Choose Paymo if your team runs client projects and you want planning, tasks, time and invoices in one account. That fits the vendor’s own targets: consulting, creative and marketing, and architecture firms.
It also makes sense if:
Skip Paymo if your team is larger than one person but has no budget at all. There is no multi-user free plan.
For many small teams, yes. Choose Clockify if:
Skip Clockify if what you really want is a project management tool. Clockify is primarily timer and timesheet based, and you will likely pair it with something else for planning.
Both tools are built around entries that a person makes or confirms. Paymo Track records time in desktop apps, but you still match it to tasks and projects. Clockify’s auto tracker sits in the desktop app, but the output is still a timesheet. Neither vendor lists AI features, so neither will tell you, in plain language, what you actually did between 2 and 4 p.m. on Tuesday.
That gap shows up in three places: Friday timesheets reconstructed from memory, standup updates, and the end-of-month question of where the week went. For a single person on a Mac, Dayflow (ours) covers it. It records the screen at one frame every 10 seconds, keeps the recordings and timeline on your Mac, and has AI write the day into a readable timeline. You can export a date range as Markdown from Settings and use it to fill in a Paymo or Clockify timesheet; we walk through that in a Mac timesheet without manual entry and exporting your work history.
Where the analysis happens is your choice. Local AI runs a supported model on your Mac through Ollama or LM Studio, so screenshot analysis stays on-device. Your own cloud provider or Dayflow Pro processes selected screenshots off-device, and under our privacy policy Pro deletes screenshots after processing but may retain Activity Data for sync. The details are in local and cloud processing. AI summaries can miss or misread work, so check them before sharing.
Two gaps remain that nothing in this comparison closes. First, Dayflow does not give a team shared reports, approvals or invoices, so it complements a team tracker rather than replacing one. Second, none of the three tools lists website blocking. If you want a wider look at options, see our roundup of the best Mac time trackers.
Be clear about this before you install anything of ours:
For the job in this article, a small team on a budget, Clockify is the tool that beats Dayflow. Dayflow fits alongside it for any teammate on a Mac who wants an automatic record of their own day.
For a small team on a budget, Clockify is the better default. Its Free plan covers up to five users with reports included, and if you need invoicing, Standard costs $65.88 per seat per year billed annually, about half of Paymo Plus at $130.80 per user.
Paymo is the better buy when the budget is really a project management budget. If it saves you a separate planning tool and you want estimates, expenses and invoices tied to the same projects, the higher per-seat price can make sense. Pay annually if you go that way.
Dayflow, ours, is not a team time tracker. It is a free, MIT-licensed Mac app for one person who wants their day written down automatically, and it works next to either tool rather than instead of them.
Yes. Clockify's Free card says it is for up to 5 users, and its FAQ says you can invite up to 4 people, so the owner plus four teammates share one free workspace. The Free plan includes unlimited tracking, the timer, timesheets, the auto tracker, calendar, reports and apps. Invoicing and approvals need a paid plan, starting at Standard ($5.49 per seat per month billed annually).
No. Paymo's Free plan is limited to 1 user, 1 client, 2 projects and 1GB of storage, and the Solo plan is also 1 user. A team of two or more needs at least the Plus plan, which costs $10.9 per user per month billed annually or $15.9 per user per month billed monthly. Paymo offers a 15-day trial with no credit card required.
Clockify, on list prices. Clockify Standard, the first tier with invoicing, is $5.49 per seat per month billed annually, or $65.88 per seat per year. Paymo's cheapest multi-user plan, Plus, is $10.9 per user per month billed annually, or $130.80 per user per year. Multiply either by your headcount. Paymo bundles project management features that Clockify does not center on, so compare features too.
Both have a desktop option. Paymo Track can run in the background and record time spent in desktop apps, which you then match to tasks and projects. Paymo says those recorded activities are stored locally and you choose what gets logged. Clockify's desktop app includes an auto tracker, available on the Free plan. In both cases, a person still turns the raw activity into timesheet entries.
Both are cloud services. Clockify lets you host data in the EU (Germany), the UK, the USA or Australia. Paymo does not state its server location on the pages checked, though it says activities recorded automatically by Paymo Track stay on the user's computer until the user chooses what to log. If data residency is a requirement, Clockify gives you more documented options.
Not according to their own pages as checked on 2026-10-04. Paymo states no AI features on the pages reviewed, and Clockify lists none. Both focus on timers, timesheets and project or payroll data. If you want an AI-written account of your workday on a Mac, that is a different kind of tool, such as Dayflow, which is ours.
No, and Clockify is the better choice here. Dayflow has no team reports, invoicing or payroll approvals, and it runs only on macOS 14 or later. Clockify's Free plan covers up to 5 users across Web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android and browser extensions, with reports included. Dayflow is built for one person who wants an automatic record of their own Mac day.
Paymo offers a 15-day trial with no credit card required. Clockify offers 7 days of Pro features, also with no credit card. Because Clockify already has a Free plan for up to 5 users, its trial matters mainly if you want to try Pro features such as scheduling, expenses or activity monitoring before paying for seats.
Yes, as separate tools. Dayflow records your Mac screen at one frame every 10 seconds and writes a timeline, and you can export a date range as Markdown from Settings, then use it to fill in timesheet entries. It is not a stated integration with either product. Remember that AI summaries can miss or misread work, so check entries before submitting them.
Dayflow is $0 and open source. Full recordings stay on your Mac, with local AI available for on-device analysis.
Download for MacOS macOS 14+ · MIT licensed · no account required