Comparison
Pick TimeCamp if your team needs timesheets, invoicing and billable time at a low per-seat price, with a free-forever plan to start. Pick Time Doctor if managers of remote staff want screenshots, app and web usage, activity levels and payroll in one tool. Dayflow, our app, is for one Mac user keeping a private record of their own day, not for tracking a team.
TimeCamp is a timesheet and billing tool. It tracks apps automatically and turns hours into invoices and budgets. Time Doctor is an employee monitoring tool built so managers can see what remote staff are doing, with screenshots, activity levels and payroll attached.
Disclosure: we make Dayflow, a free Mac app that appears below as a third option. It is not a team tracker, and we say plainly where it does not fit. Everything here comes from each vendor’s own documentation as checked on 2026-10-04. We did not run the tools side by side.
| Tool | Best for | How it tracks | Price | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TimeCamp | Teams that bill clients or run timesheets on a budget | Desktop app tracks apps and websites by keyword, plus timers, timesheets and AI-suggested entries | Free forever; paid from $3.99 per user/month billed annually | Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android |
| Time Doctor | Managers of remote and distributed teams who want oversight | Background desktop tracking with screenshots, app and web usage, activity levels | From $6.67 per user/month billed annually; no free tier | Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome, mobile |
| Dayflow (ours) | One Mac user keeping a private record of their own day | Records the screen at one frame every 10 seconds; AI writes a timeline | $0 (MIT); optional Pro at $20/month | macOS 14 or later |
Price. TimeCamp’s paid plans start at $3.99 per user per month billed annually, or $5.49 month-to-month. Its top self-serve plan, Ultimate, is $9.99 per user per month annually. That is less than Time Doctor’s Standard plan at $11.67. For a team adding seats, the gap grows with every person.
A real free plan. TimeCamp’s free-forever plan allows unlimited users. The vendor does not itemize every limit on the pages we read, so check what is included before you rely on it. Still, it lets a team start tracking without a card. Time Doctor has no free tier.
Billing and budgets. If your team bills clients, TimeCamp maps more directly to the job:
Time Doctor’s listed strengths do not include invoicing.
Keyword-based time assignment. TimeCamp’s desktop app tracks apps and websites and assigns time to projects by keywords. That suits teams who want timesheets built from activity rather than typed from memory.
One caution: the pricing page lists app and website tracking from the Premium plan. That detail comes from a summarized read, so confirm it on TimeCamp’s pricing page before you buy Starter expecting automatic tracking.
Lighter oversight. Screenshots exist on TimeCamp’s Ultimate plan, but they are optional and an admin has to enable them. A team can use TimeCamp without anyone’s screen being captured. That matters if your staff would push back on monitoring.
Self-hosting. TimeCamp’s Enterprise plan offers self-hosted deployment as well as private cloud. Time Doctor lists private cloud on Enterprise but not self-hosting.
Visibility into remote work. Time Doctor positions itself for leaders of remote, hybrid and distributed teams who want to see what their workforce is working on. The feature set follows from that:
If a manager’s question is “what was this person doing at 2pm,” Time Doctor is built to answer it.
Payroll and attendance in one place. From the Standard plan, Time Doctor lists attendance, schedules, payroll and time approvals. For a company paying hourly contractors, that connects tracked time to pay without a second tool.
AI included. The vendor says Time Doctor AI is included in every plan. It also offers a Time Doctor MCP connection, and lists Benchmarks AI and an Unusual Activity AI Report on Premium. TimeCamp’s AI Time Tracker, by contrast, is billed separately by token usage.
Integrations. Time Doctor lists 60+ integrations from Standard. TimeCamp’s integration count is not part of the facts we checked, so see TimeCamp’s pricing page.
A clean trial. Time Doctor offers fourteen days with no credit card required. TimeCamp offers a trial on paid plans, but the length is not stated on the pages we read.
| Capability | TimeCamp | Time Doctor | Dayflow (ours) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Automatic capture | Apps and websites by keyword (listed from Premium) | Background tracking of time, apps and web usage | Screen frame every 10 seconds, written into a timeline |
| Manual timers and timesheets | Yes | Tracking can run under user control | No timers |
| Screenshots or screen recording | Optional screenshots, admin-enabled, on Ultimate | Screenshots; video screen recording on Premium | Records your own screen, stored on your Mac |
| Invoicing | From Starter | Not listed | No |
| Payroll and approvals | Approvals on Ultimate; payroll not listed | Payroll and approvals from Standard | No |
| Team reports | Team timesheets, budgets, resource planning | Web and app usage reports, productivity ratings | No |
| Website blocking | Not listed; see the vendor’s pricing page | Not listed; see the vendor’s pricing page | No |
| AI summaries | AI Time Tracker fills timesheets, billed by tokens | Time Doctor AI on every plan; extra AI reports on Premium | AI writes the day into a timeline; local, own provider or Pro |
| Data location | Vendor cloud; self-hosted or private cloud on Enterprise | Vendor cloud; private cloud on Enterprise; server location not stated | Recordings and timeline on your Mac |
| Free tier | Free forever, unlimited users | None; 14-day trial | Free app, MIT licensed |
| Platforms | Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, Android | Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome, mobile | macOS 14 or later |
| Open source | No | No | Yes (MIT) |
| Plan level | TimeCamp (annual / monthly, per user) | Time Doctor (annual / monthly, per user) |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, free forever | None |
| Entry | Starter: $3.99 / $5.49 | Basic: $6.67 / $8 |
| Middle | Premium: $6.99 / $9.99 | Standard: $11.67 / $14 |
| Top self-serve | Ultimate: $9.99 / $13.99 | Premium: $16.70 / $20.00 |
| Enterprise | On request; see the vendor’s pricing page | Custom; see the vendor’s pricing page |
| AI | Billed by tokens; vendor estimates about $6 per user/month | Included in every plan |
Dayflow is $0, with an optional Pro plan at $20 a month. Details are on our pricing page.
What one person costs per year. Here, team tracking means per-person automatic app and web tracking plus manager approvals, since that is what most teams end up needing.
On TimeCamp, approvals sit on Ultimate. That works out to $119.88 per user per year billed annually, or $167.88 month-to-month. On Time Doctor, Standard is the first plan with both approvals and web and app usage reporting. That costs $140.04 per user per year billed annually, or $168 month-to-month. Multiply either figure by your headcount. The per-seat gap scales with team size.
TimeCamp’s AI Time Tracker changes the math. The vendor’s own estimate of about $6 per user per month adds roughly $72 per user per year. That pushes TimeCamp Ultimate past Time Doctor Standard. Treat the figure as an estimate, since the charge depends on token usage.
If you only need tracked hours and invoices, without approvals, TimeCamp Premium is the cheapest fit at $83.88 per user per year. Time Doctor’s cheapest plan, Basic, costs $80.04 per user per year but lacks web and app usage reporting.
Time Doctor also lists optional add-ons for Basic and Standard, including Software Cost Insights at $3 per user per month.
Both tools answer the employer’s question: how many hours, on what project, at what activity level. Neither is built to answer the individual’s question: what did I actually do today, and where did my attention go?
The data lives in the vendor’s cloud on every plan below Enterprise, and the reports are shaped for a manager or an invoice. A timesheet line like “Project X, 3h 12m” is useful to accounting. It does little when you are writing a standup or a weekly update. It also does little when you are trying to understand why a day felt busy but went nowhere.
This is the gap Dayflow covers, and only this gap. Dayflow is a free, MIT-licensed Mac app. It records your screen at one frame every 10 seconds and has AI write the day into a readable timeline. Recordings and the timeline are stored on your Mac.
Screenshot analysis can stay on-device if you run a local model through Ollama or LM Studio. You can also send selected screenshots to your own cloud provider, or use Dayflow Pro. Under the privacy policy, Pro deletes screenshots after processing. The tradeoffs are laid out in our page on local and cloud processing, and the wider question is covered in is Dayflow safe.
Some people pair the two kinds of tool. The company tracker satisfies payroll. Dayflow feeds the person’s own notes and automatic standup updates. If you are weighing the ethics of tracking a team at all, our piece on time tracking without surveillance is a useful counterweight to Time Doctor’s model.
For a broader view of individual tools, see our roundup of the best time tracker for Mac options.
For the job in this article, team time tracking, Dayflow is the wrong pick almost every time. Be clear about that before installing it for a team.
For most teams, TimeCamp is the better default. It is cheaper per seat at every tier and has a free-forever plan. It also takes you from tracked time to invoices and budgets without turning on screenshots.
Time Doctor wins when the point of tracking is oversight of remote staff. Choose it if managers want screenshots, activity levels and usage reports, and if payroll should come straight out of tracked hours.
Check two things before you commit. First, confirm which TimeCamp plan includes automatic app and website tracking. Second, decide whether TimeCamp’s token-billed AI changes its price advantage for your team.
Dayflow, ours, is not a team tracker. It is for the individual on a Mac who wants a private, readable record of their own day. Ideally it runs alongside whichever of these two tools the company chooses, not in place of it.
Yes, at every listed tier. TimeCamp has a free-forever plan with unlimited users, and its paid plans run from $3.99 to $9.99 per user per month billed annually. Time Doctor has no free tier, and its plans run from $6.67 to $16.70 per user per month billed annually. TimeCamp's AI Time Tracker is billed separately by token usage, so add that cost if you plan to use it.
No. Time Doctor has no free tier. It offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. After that, the cheapest option is the Basic plan at $6.67 per user per month billed annually, or $8 month-to-month. Basic does not include web and app usage reporting or integrations. Those start on the Standard plan.
It can. TimeCamp lists screenshots as optional and admin-enabled. The feature sits on the Ultimate plan at $9.99 per user per month billed annually, or $13.99 month-to-month, and an admin has to turn it on. TimeCamp's main focus is timesheets and automatic app tracking rather than screen capture. Screen capture is closer to Time Doctor's focus.
Time Doctor. The vendor positions it for leaders of remote, hybrid and distributed teams who want visibility into what staff are working on. It offers screenshots, web and app usage reports, activity levels and productivity ratings. It also lists video screen recording on Premium. TimeCamp can take screenshots on Ultimate, but its feature set leans toward timesheets, billing and budgets.
Time Doctor lists attendance, schedules, payroll and time approvals from its Standard plan, at $11.67 per user per month billed annually. TimeCamp lists attendance and time-off management from Starter and timesheet approvals on Ultimate. Payroll is not among TimeCamp's listed features. If you want payroll inside the tracker, Time Doctor is the closer fit.
TimeCamp offers self-hosted deployment and private cloud on its Enterprise plan. Time Doctor lists Private Cloud Deployment on Enterprise. Both Enterprise plans are priced on request, so see each vendor's pricing page. On every other plan, both tools store your team's data in the vendor's cloud. Neither tool is open source.
No. Time Doctor beats Dayflow for this job. Dayflow is a single-user Mac app with no team reports, payroll, approvals, invoicing or admin dashboard, and it only runs on macOS 14 or later. If you need to see a team's hours across Windows, Mac and Linux, use Time Doctor or TimeCamp. Dayflow is for one person's own record of their day.
Both do. TimeCamp has apps for Web, Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS and Android. Time Doctor has apps for Windows, Mac, Linux, Chrome and mobile. Either one can cover a mixed team where some people use Macs and others use Windows or Linux. A Mac-only app cannot do that.
Time Doctor says its AI is included in every plan, and it lists Benchmarks AI and an Unusual Activity AI Report on Premium. TimeCamp's AI Time Tracker, which fills timesheets from activity, is billed by token usage. TimeCamp estimates that cost at about $6 per user per month and gives $10 in trial credits.
Time Doctor says annual billing gives two months free, a 16.6% discount. That drops Standard from $14 to $11.67 per user per month. TimeCamp's annual prices are lower too. Starter is $3.99 annually versus $5.49 monthly, Premium is $6.99 versus $9.99, and Ultimate is $9.99 versus $13.99 per user per month.
Dayflow is $0 and open source. Full recordings stay on your Mac, with local AI available for on-device analysis.
Download for MacOS macOS 14+ · MIT licensed · no account required